Sketch-On-Saturday card idea – step it up!

Hi there.
So it turned out I as too tired to make anything for my sketch idea after work last night, and today has been chock-a-block too. So it’s taken quite the time to get this card ready to post today.

Phew, I honestly think this is the longest card that ever came to be. From the original idea, to actually getting it right with all the scrapping it and re-workings along the way…. It feels like I’ve been working on this one for days!!!

My idea was to make a stepper card – the sketch itself is tricky enough to draw. As you can tell from the rubbishy diagrams in my notepad. In my defence, you should see all the out-of-proportion, wonky sketches of cards that would never have stood upright. They were only fit for the recycling pile!

sketch17 card ideaI based my measuring and folding and scoring on a stepper card that I received once (not a hand-made one, but I thought it’d be a good template to save!).
I’m sure there must be an easy how-to on stepper cards somewhere out there, like Splitcoaststampers or something, if I’d have bothered to take a look!
So even making the card blank was a wrestle in itself, it could have been worse though without the template 😉

Here’s my card:

sketch_cardSOS17

I thought I’d try to make a little scene.
A couple of patterned papers and scrap of gold doily for the sun
including new paper from My Mind’s Eye 6×6 pad ‘Lime Twist – Happy Go Lucky’ pad which I scored this week…
… decorated with various sequin and gem flowers….

sketch_cardSOS17_closea… a stamped birdie which is stamped and watercoloured and layered (Hero Arts ‘Decorative Bird IV (B4752)’.
Mine came in a set of 4 which I split with 3 crafty friends, but looks like you can buy him separately anyhoo.)…

sketch card SOS17 stepper card

… and a punched butterfly (Tonic Studios Butterfly punch 726e
I think) which is punched twice and a length of craft wire sandwiched between the two shapes so it flutters out over the stepper area.

Phew, it was a mammoth make for what looks like quite a simple project. Not 100% sure about it now that it’s done, but I seriously do not have any more stamina left to try again with this one!
Hmmm. Practice makes perfect I guess when it comes to steppers.
But I’ll need to lie down for a while first 😉

Meanwhile I’ll be entering this one into the City Crafter Challenge #64 – Birds of a Feather. Given the amazing projects over there mine does pale into insignificance, but never mind!
Haven’t managed to play along with this one in ages, and it’s fun.

Hope you’ve been having a good Saturday bloggy friends, see you again soon, Rx

 

 

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Hero Arts, Sketches, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sketch-On-Saturday card idea – step it up!

  1. Such a cute card! Love the butterfly embellishment and the flowers sprinkled about! The little paper pieced bird looks darling!

  2. kasia says:

    Super cool! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a card like that before. It is all fabulous but I LOVE that butterfly. It looks so great “flying” off that blue wire.

  3. Ruth, you are brave to create this step card! I have tried in the past and they can be difficult and make you want to pull your hair out. LOL. It looks like it was a success! I love the butterfly suspended by the wire. Such a fun card!

  4. What an amazing creation thanks for playing along with us at CCCB!

  5. Pauline says:

    This is fabulous!! I love the doily sun and the sweet little bird, I haven’t tried one of those yet myself.

  6. Ros crawford says:

    Well it was worth all the effort … this is fabulous … Thanks so much for playing along at CCCB

  7. Courtney Lee says:

    Fabulous job!!! Thank you so much for the nice comment you left on my welcome post at the My Mind’s Eye Blog! I was so touched by the overwhelmingly warm welcome!

  8. Linda R says:

    This is so cute.. I just love those folds.. Thanks so much for playing along with us at CCCB!

  9. cheryln says:

    So cute! Thank you so much for playing along at CCCB!

Leave a Reply

