Summer fruits card

Hi all – hope you are set for the weekend! I’m ready for it myself.
It’s been another busy week.

I did manage to squeeze in a spot of crafting last night though, with this fruity card, inspired by the latest Ribbon Reel Challenge #5 to make a card inspired by this pic:
Ribbon Reel challenge #5 summer fruit cupcake… and “use two ribbons/lace or twine, at least one brad and to include a summer fruit element.”

Sounds like a yum recipe, no? Here’s my card.

Ribbon Reel Challenge 5 - strawberry card
I thought immediately of the fruity, glittery-accented patterned paper that I had in a DCWV stack ‘The Sweet Stack’. And the delish colours came from there.

A couple of trims – bobble trim and lime satin ribbon – stapled across as a border and the focal point is made with my Cuttlebug, die-cut and embossed Nestabilities Labels 18. It’s shabby inked at the edges with Distress Ink ‘Peeled Paint’.

I stamped the message with a set of mini peg alphabet stamps, and then the final flourish is my strawberry accent. (Sadly the light was too poor to capture a decent pic this morning! If I remember when it’s a bit brighter, then I’ll update you!)
I used a flocked heart-shape brad by Doodlebug Design and snipped a felt flower in half to build a juicy berry. Cute!
A little white gel pen doodling finishes it off.

Hope you (and the Ribbon Reel gals!) like it.
I have some fun ideas to play with tonight for my Sketch-On-Saturday this week, so let’s see what happens there! Come back tomorrow to see how it all turns out!!!
Have a good Friday folks, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Cute, Cuttlebug, Inspiration, Nestabilities, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer fruits card

  1. Keilly says:

    Gorgeous card, lovely summery colours and what perfect paper! Thanks for sharing with us at The Ribbon Reel this fortnight.

  2. Pauline says:

    Hi Ruth, this is a yummy fruity card, love it! Thanks so much for joining us at The Ribbon Reel this week!

  3. Love the stitching around the border Ruth! The little red heart is so cute.

  4. jo says:

    Gorgeous card, Ruth – love the papers you used and the sentiment is perfect 😀

    jo x

  5. kasia says:

    Yummy! So bright and pretty! I love that faux white stitching and tha adorable pom pom trim! Fabulous card Ruth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

