Distressing distressed card?

Hi there
Hope you had a lovely weekend. Here’s a card today that I’m really not too sure about.

I was feeling a bit strung out when I made this one and was going for a bit of a distressed vibe. But I know I don’t really do distressed too well, and grabbing bright and cheery papers and embellishments probably wasn’t the best choice.
I was hoping that I could come back to this card and give it a re-work but even a week or so later I’m still feeling ‘urg’ about it.

flowercard_hi

The main patterned paper is October Afternoon ‘Modern Homemaker’ 8x8pad, and it’s scrunched, inked (Distress Ink ‘Tea Dye’) then machine stitched to a panel. Fixed to a card blank, which I embossed – Cuttlebug ‘Swiss Dots’ – and added white doodling.

flower card_hi_close up

The flower is a couple of fabric blooms layered up and a button added, a hand-cut & scrunched leaf is layered behind, with Thickers for the greeting.

So what do you think? I don’t rate it, so I may have to dismantle it ‘for parts’ instead of sending this one.
Do you have cards like that – they really just don’t quite make the grade? Hmm.

Have a good day folks, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Cuttlebug. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Distressing distressed card?

  1. alice wertz says:

    love the scrunched look of the patterned paper, such a wonderful touch, Ruth! super card!

  2. Yes, Ruth I have made plenty of cards I wasn’t pleased with. Sometimes I just let them sit and go back to them later or I take them apart and start over. This one has some very cheerful colors and I especially like the “Hi”on the leaf. Maybe you could try another color cardbase to see if that makes you more happy with it. Just an idea.

Leave a Reply

