Thank you – Lily Pad Cards Inspiration#3

Hi there!
So finally I’m back to posting more of a ‘normal’ routine… Did you miss me? Hmmm, I’m not going to pretend that you will have done, on account of the fact that I know you cannot be possibly hanging over your keyboards, desperately anticipating my next card idea. Don’t try to tell me that’s the case.

I’ve been away on a summer holiday – we spent a lovely week in the Lake District, Cumbria (shall share more details plus pics and projects inspired by the trip, another day). We had taken our laptop and a dongle with the intention of me being able to upload some cards that I’d made before the holiday, but it could not cope with pic uploads. Boo.

So I have lots of fill you in on.
Yesterday would have been a Sketch-On-Saturday but considering this week has been totally out of synch and I didn’t even get to show you my Trend-Alert Tuesday card… well, let’s just call it quits and ‘regular’ service will be resumed next Tuesday and Saturday, ok?

Here’s my card for today, to enter the latest Inspiration Challenge #3, at Lily Pad Cards: to be inspired by something I’ve seen over at ‘the pad’ this month.
Did you see Vicky’s yummy thank you card here? Here’s my (very modest) tribute…

Lily Pad Cards - Inspiration challenge #3

Sadly my shades ofΒ  Distress Inks do not stretch that far, so I couldn’t capture Vicky’s ace ‘striping’ effect when she stamped that cute flower and leaves. Will have to try it with my other ink cubes sometime.
But I do love the colours she used. So summery and happy.

My topiary roses and the container are stamped from the Flourishes ‘DIY Topiary’ clear set and I coloured them with my watercolour pencils and blended with my waterbrush to try to get Vicky’s watercolour stamped effect.
The flower topiary is embellished with a gingham ribbon and Stickles. Then mounted up on foam pads on to a couple of die-cut labels. I cut, embossed and inked the edges (Distress Ink ‘Tea Dye’) of the labels: Nesties ‘Labels 18’.

The butterfly is also a die-cut, by MFT Die-namics, here at Simon Says Stamp, or try
Dies to Die for in the UK where I got mine πŸ˜‰

Lily Pad Cards_Inspiration Challenge 3_closeup

I stamped my red card blank using Papertrey Ink’s ‘Background Basics: Newsprint’ in Versamark for a tone-on-tone text effect, like Vicky’s subtle stamped background.
And the greeting is just spelt with some Karen Foster alpha stickers.

This card’s for you, all my bloggy readers who having been stopping by despite the lack of posting from me – thanks for your patience!!
Take care and hope you get some crafty time today, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Cuttlebug, Flourishes, Inspiration, Nestabilities, Papertrey Ink, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank you – Lily Pad Cards Inspiration#3

  1. Hi Ruth, Glad your back! This card has a lot of great contrast. I like the die cut letters. What did you use to create them?

    • Hi there Jackie – thanks for your message πŸ˜‰
      I actually made the sentiment with alphabet cardstock stickers. They’re from an old pack in my stasheroo by Karen Foster ‘Funky Alphabet White #10948’. I really like the font but it’s impossible to buy anything Karen Foster in the UK anymore, so I admit I’ve been hoarding them rather than enjoying using them!!
      I’d be happy all over my face if I could find a similar set of alphabet dies so I could diecut them to my heart’s content, and in any colour!
      Rx

  2. Such a darling card! Love the 3D flower embellishment!

  3. Alice W. says:

    beautiful colors. wonderful take on Vicky’s card, too. lovely card, Ruth!

  4. Lin says:

    Hi Ruth! This is a very nice take on Vicky’s card – I love all the elements you brought together for it! Thanks so much for playing with us at Lily Pad Cards, and on a personal note, thank you for your always kind comments on my blog. I so appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

