Waltzing Mouse Sketch challenge WMSC49

Hi all bloggie friends – how are you doing today?
Almost half way through the week already folks 😉

I’m playing along with the Waltzing Mouse Sketch Challenge, WMSC49, today.
This week’s sketch has been created by Edna again, and it’s a goodie…

WaltzingMouseSketchChallenge49I love WMS labels stamps and have a couple of sets that coordinate with my Nesties – but I thought I might try to ring the changes with this card.
When I was looking at the sketch, hoping for the ‘ah ha!’ moment of inspiration to dawn, I was rotating it around and then it came to me that instead of a label focal point, it kind of looks like a quirky tree with the thread/ twine criss-crosses as the edges of the tree trunk. Who knew?!

Check out what I made:

WMS_sketch_challenge_card
I freehand cut the tree foliage from green card that I’d stamped and heat embossed in white with the new WMS Gingham & Co set. Such a fun set 😉
I layered up a few pieces and made the trunk from a woodgrain stamped scrap (Hero Arts ‘Designer Woodgrain’) which I coloured with pencils and edged with brown twine, from The Ribbon Girl.

WMSC49_treecard_close

The greeting is from the WMS Say It Loud set. I stamped it in burgundy to match a bunch of cute red mini buttons for my tree 😉
Tree hugs, gettit? (sorry!)

Hope you likey, and take care, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Sketches, stamping, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waltzing Mouse Sketch challenge WMSC49

  1. Oooh! So cute!!! I love it!

  2. Niki Estes says:

    So cute! I love your gingham tree!

  3. Alice W. says:

    fabulous take on the sketch! love your lovely tree! super card, Ruth!

  4. Oh what a sweet card! Love how you created that tree using gingham! The buttons make awesome apples! Thanks for joining along with the WMSC 🙂

  5. Jess says:

    Is that twine I spy near the trunk? I love that detail!

  6. Pauline says:

    Fantastic card, love your take on this sketch! love the tree, it’s wonderful!

  7. Awww what a sweet apple tree! You can never go wrong with gingham leaves and button apples! So adorable, and love the sentiment you chose to go with it.

  8. What an adorable tree! Great take on the sketch this week!!

  9. Jean Martin says:

    Ruth!!! OMGosh! You built that tree!!! It’s sooooo cute!!!! What a great job!!! Aren’t these stamps so wonderful?! 🙂 I’m so glad you joined us this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

