Monochrome card challenge

Hi all
Hope you have been enjoying your weekends! And if you’re celebrating an extra day off work for the holiday Monday too, then fingers crossed the weather’s being nice to you 😉
It’s pretty rainy here already. C’est la vie…
Here in the UK it’s the second of our May Bank Holiday Mondays, so I had a little extra chance to craft last night, being as I don’t have work today. Yay!

I thought I’d join in with the first of Ingrid’s fab weekend challenges over at her blog: Scrapbook Mania & More.
The challenge is to make a monochrome card.  Here’s mine…

monochromecard

I added a stamped/ heat embossed  layer in a neutral colour – white – to lift the colour balance. The woodgrain background is a wood-mounted DesignBlock stamp by Hero Arts ‘Designer Woodgrain‘ (S5208).

I was experimenting with the idea of keeping the background layer shabby and distressed, so I didn’t brush off the excess powder too carefully. It adds to the effect of an antique wood surface, like a well-worn-old-door I think.

A bit of layering with lilac scraps from my odds and ends pile, a purple felt die-cut flourish, a layered flower and a sentiment sticker finish off.

monochrome card_close

Will have some more goodies for you later with a few pics from our Madrid trip,
last weekend. See you, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Hero Arts, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monochrome card challenge

  1. Ruth, your card is beautiful. I always have a hard time using purple (my last attempt ended up in the trash bin), but you did a great job. Love the embossed background, and the different elements you used. Thank you so much for playing along.

  2. Alice W. says:

    beautiful rich colors and love all the textures. very pretty card, Ruth!

  3. Pauline says:

    Gorgeous card, one of my favourite colours! I love that gorgeous swirl.

Leave a Reply

