Sketch-On-Saturday card (SOS12) – watercolour flowers

Hello and happy Saturday!

Today’s card is based on a simple sketch. I play with a few sketch ideas drawing them up in my notebook, on the train to work through the week. This one was calling to me for today’s idea. Just a straight-forward look, to show off a large image as the main focus of a card.

sketch12

And here’s the card…
I went a bit distressed over this idea 😉

sketch_cardSOS12

The flowers are repeatedly stamped in soft lilac colour – Versacolor Hyacinth – and are from the Hero Arts clear set ‘Watercolour Petals’ (CL431).
I heat embossed with PSX Sparkle powder for a pretty iridescent shimmer.
I had bookmarked this cute tray project recently at Design*Sponge, and thought the shimmer effect and botanical style flowers were quite inspiring for a card.

sketch_cardSOS12closea

A good bit of scuffing up the paper edges and inking with Distress Inks: Tea Dye and Antique Linen.
It’s layered onto a green tone-on-tone patterned paper, also a bit distressed, and embellished with a soft organza bow, pearls and a paper flower.

sketch_cardSOS12closeb
I inked the petal tips of the flower as the colour was a bit of an intense purple. Toning it down with some white ink was just the ticket.

My original sketch didn’t have a place that really suited a sentiment, so I thought I’d wait and see how the card turned out, and when I came to play with it, well… it still wasn’t really working to add one.
I’ll add something inside when I send the card I think 😉

Thanks for visiting, and see you later alligators,
Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Hero Arts, Sketches, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sketch-On-Saturday card (SOS12) – watercolour flowers

  1. Laurel says:

    So cute. I love your sketch and would love to use it as inspiration…. It’s fabulous!

  2. Alice W. says:

    lovely card, Ruth! great colors!

  3. So pretty Ruth! Love the water color flowers and the shimmery finish!

  4. Pauline says:

    Beautiful card Ruth, love the distressing and the shimmery flowers, so pretty!

  5. Niki Estes says:

    Very pretty! I love the distressing and the sparkle on the flowers!

Leave a Reply

