Trend-Alert Tuesday – card idea with a silhouette

So technically, it is still Tuesday. And I’m not *actually* late in posting this Trend-Alert card idea for you.

Even though I feel bad because making this one took so much longer than I was hoping for. Not sure why, being as it’s actually quite a CAS design. Other than the fact that I may actually be asleep while typing this. My body is being fooled into thinking it’s not bedtime yet.
(And making it worse, you’ll really have to forgive me big time for the appallingly bad photos ,which I haven’t been able to take in daylight. Bleuch.)

trend_cameo5

But I do like the effect of the finished card anyhoo.

I made this slightly silly card for a friend (she reads my bloggo but I hope it won’t totally spoil the surprise, as I shall reveal in a moment).
I thought the silhouette rub-on was fun – all a bit period drama tv (Downton Abbey maybe?).
It’s by Glitz Design, and I scored it from Sarah’s Cards. There are others in the pack ‘Scarlett‘ as well as vintagey florals…. a fancy chap in a straw boater plus some kids too, so it’s a useful set.

trend_cameo5closeupa

I layered it onto a flowery chintzy patterned paper (Papermania ‘Blueberry Hill’ A5 pad, which I’ve had for a while and seems to be everlasting. But that’s ok because all the designs are nice!)
And hand-cut a selection of speech bubbles to write some greetings. Here comes the quirkiness….

Do you remember Fuzzy Felt from when you were a kid? And you customise your own picture or scene with the different felt shapes. A bit more of a grown-up version is magnetic fridge poetry (which we have, but hubby is doesn’t really ‘get’.
I think it’s completely hilarious, so I can’t imagine why it doesn’t tickle his ribs, but still.)
Anyhoo, I don’t know why I was reminded of Fuzzy Felt last week, but I thought it would be fun to have a customisable card – so I scored myself some self-adhesive velcro to make removable speech bubbles.

Finish the sentence as you see fit.
Here are just a few of the phrases I’ll include in the envelope for my dear pal to
play with. There are other messages which I’ve not shown (they make more sense to us both as ‘in jokes’ and will also mean that I’m not revealing the whole card
right now!)

speech bubbles

I hope it will make her giggle.

Cool idea to make the traditional-looking idea of a silhouette into something a bit funny and punny, no?
And you can really ring the changes with any messages you fancy… masculine or feminine…. Silly or not…. Lots of options.

Hugs, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Trend-Alert Tues. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trend-Alert Tuesday – card idea with a silhouette

  1. Such a fun idea!!! The hubsies never understand why we think things are funny… I have just decided he’s the one who’s clueless, not me… 😉

  2. Pauline says:

    Lovely card, love the hand written speech bubbles!

  3. Alice W. says:

    this is so pretty and clever! love the extra phrases. lovely card, Ruth!

  4. NancyK says:

    I love this fun card! What a great idea to use the word bubbles to swap the messages. Very clever, I’m sure your friend will be charmed!

  5. danielle says:

    What a cute and creative card! I think the word bubbles are so fun!!

Leave a Reply

