Cupcake idea: Sketch-On-Saturday card SOS11

Morning bloggies – hooray for the weekend!

Here’s my sketch for you today, Sketch-On-Saturday SOS 11…

sketch11
I originally fancied trying to suspending a charm or something on a card so I came up with the idea of this sketch with a die-cut aperture so you can dangle the charm.
But in the end my charms were misbehaving when I tried this, (naughty charms), and wouldn’t hang ‘straight’. Not good unless you are specifically aiming for a drunken-looking card…

So I went for the option of making an acetate window and layered over a hand-made cupcake topper.

sketch_cardSOS11
Yummy looking, no?

sketch_cardSOS11closea

I freehand cut the pink felt icing and stitched on a bunch of seed beads and bugle beads for sprinkles, and a cute heart button on top. Then I layered it over a corrugated card piece for the cake case.
(A second, undecorated felt cake sits on the acetate to line the inside of the card, so you can’t see messiness at the back of all my stitching!)

sketch_cardSOS11closeb

The glittery patterned paper is by Doodlebug Design. Also delish.
In the end I thought it was looking a bit too busy to add a sentiment too, so I’ll add that inside to suit the recipient when I send it šŸ˜‰

Hope you likey, and leave me a comment if you play along with my sketch – I’d love to see,
Bye, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in beads, Cards, Cute, Cuttlebug, Fabric, Nestabilities, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cupcake idea: Sketch-On-Saturday card SOS11

  1. Pauline says:

    This is so cute, love the beading on the cuppie, so sweet! A gorgeous delicious card!

  2. Julia Aston says:

    what a fun sketch and an equally fun cupcake! love all the sprinkles!

  3. What a sweet card Ruth! What fun sprinkles and the shimmery background looks so pretty!

Leave a Reply

