CAS card for Sketch-on-Saturday idea: SOS10

So my card for today’s Sketch-on-Saturday idea, SOS10, is a bit late in arriving. Sorry bout that.
I wasn’t happy with the card that I made at first for this sketch, so I thought I’d better make a different one. To spare you all the disaster-zone that was my first card, I picked the embellishments off and relegated the rest to the ‘recycle area’.

Here is my sketch.
To look at it, you wouldn’t think it would generate quite such a calamity, would you? Anyhoo…

sketch10

Anyhoo… this second card is a ton better. I just stuck to the CAS look and even managed to avoid any stamping. (In best ‘Monica voice: “I know!”)
Excuse the mega-shadows – it’s really sunny here today. At least my laundry will get dry anyway!

sketch_cardSOS10

Some sunshiney patterned paper by My Mind’s Eye from the 6×6
Fine & Dandy- True Blue‘ pad, a spot of scallopy punching (Fiskars ‘Threading Water’) and a couple of tags by American Crafts. These are really nice for an
instant accent.
They’re called ‘Bits’ from the recent ‘Peachy Keen‘ collection. Yum.

I am entering this card into the new CAS-ual Fridays challenge to use buttons and twine, CFC2.
CFC#2 CAS-ual Fridays
A little trio of buttons to coordinate with the colours of the tag layering, secured with pale linen twine is perfect.

Thanks for looking, and of course for all your comments.
In spite of all the Blogger mayhem lately, when I haven’t been able to comment on all your lovely posts this last couple of days. Forgive me 😉
Hugs, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to CAS card for Sketch-on-Saturday idea: SOS10

  1. Julie Day says:

    Oh I love the tag on the card! Lovely color combo and your trio of twined buttons is a perfect touch 🙂 Thanks for playing this week at CAS-ual Fridays! Was the text already on the tag or is it a stamp or rub-on?

    • Thanks for your message Julie 😉
      I’m much more pleased with this card than my crummy first one – those cute buttons are the best. But those tags are perfect. Gotta love American Crafts. The message is ready on one of the tags, so it’s fast and good-to-go. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy!
      Hugs, Ruth x

  2. Laurie W. says:

    I love your sketch! I might have to use it!! I do love your card! Those tags are so fun! Thanks for playing along at CAS-ual Fridays!

  3. Alice W. says:

    love the clean CAS design. super card, Ruth!

  4. Virginia L. says:

    Love your sketch, Ruth!! You did a fantastic job using the sketch for the challenge! Love the twines and buttons-FABULOUS!! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays! Hope to see your fab work again!

  5. Delightful! Love the cute collection of buttons and your adorable sentiment on the tags! So glad you played with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  6. Anette says:

    LOVE your card!

  7. NancyK says:

    Great sketch, Ruth, and your card is so sweet, love it! I never know what to do with tags on cards and this is such a great idea. I’ll be filing this away to try the next time I want to add a tag. Thanks for the wonderful inspiration!

  8. Cute, cute! I don’t know what you’re other card looked like, but this one is super sweet! Love the coordnating tag with the background DP, and I also love the contrast of the DP against all that white – delicious!! Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays! Hope to see more of your beautiful work again!

  9. Cute card Ruth! Awesome color combo!

  10. kasia says:

    Ruth, this is awesome! LOVE the sketch and your card. Those 3 little buttons & twine are perfect, the colour combo is so bright and yummy, and the tags…..awesome! I too am going to have to find time to use this sketch!
    {hugs}

  11. Pauline says:

    Beautiful card Ruth, the colours and paper are lovely, and the buttons are perfect.

  12. Laura Davis says:

    This is such a beautiful card, lovely!
    Thanks for playing at CAS-ual Fridays!
    Laura

  13. Dana says:

    Tee hee, I can soo hear your “Monica” voice! Your non-stamped card is really fun. I like the perfect balance of white space with the colorful tag and buttons. SO glad you joined us for CAS-ual Fridays!

Leave a Reply

