Cameo card ideas: Trend-Alert-Tuesday (part2)

ETA: I forgot to mention I was entering my first card into the May Digi Day Challenge over at Stamp Something! Doh!
Another fun challenge though 😉

It’s Tuesday and that means another Trend-Alert card idea for you – or in today’s case, two cards! Yay!

Sticking with May’s hot trend of cameos and silhouettes, both cards use a downloadable digi file from The Graphics Fairy called ‘Woman in Oval Frame‘.
First up….

trend_cameo2

An elegant style, simple effect. And I tried to stick with my sketch idea from Saturday, SOS9. After all, I’m challenging myself to make as many cards with this sketch as possible this week!
I just flipped the sketch so that my lady faces ‘into’ the card rather than looking outwards. A better look, design-wise.

trend_cameo2closeupa

I printed the vintage silhouette onto a tone-on-tone patterned paper, Papermania ‘Pampered Pets’ collection, and trimmed it closely. She’s layered up onto a patterned background, which is recycled from some packaging, and I added a pearl gem necklace (Kaisercraft).

And I used not only the fun silhouette image, but also got to ink up my new delivery from Waltzing Mouse Stamps which arrived at the weekend when I was away! Squeal!

trend_cameo2closeupb

The gingham panel, from Gingham & Co., is heat embossed in a sparkle embossing powder for a subtle background effect. I love this shimmery embossed look. I’m telling you- when I saw how cute this turned out, I *totally* knew that set was worth every penny 😉
And the sentiment is from ‘Say it Loud‘, trimmed and raised up on foam pads. This is going to be such a well-used sentiment selection, I can tell already!

Next up, going a bit more fun and funky with this idea…

trend_cameo3

I thought it would be fun to see what a different look I could get with the same silhouette image. Again she’s printed onto a tone-on-tone paper and trimmed. But I added a twine hanging to make it look like a picture frame, and a bunch of gems to highlight the frame.

trend_cameo3closeup

I used a few strips of washi tape – I recently scored myself some new washi from
The Makery Emporium in Bath, not too far from my office. (This is going to be very dangerous having a shop like this, crammed full of treats so close to work! Easy to get sucked in for a whole lunchtime!)
More washi on the envelope too 😉

And again stamping a quick greeting from ‘Say it Loud‘, a mini sentiment this time.

This card is made with someone in mind. I want to send a little personal message to a blogging friend. Something she has been going through recently touched me, so I have made this for her. I hope she likes it.
I’ll be linking this card to Lisa’s cool Make-it + Mail-it challenge too, to send a card to someone each week.

Hope you likey – thanks for stopping by, anyways.
Come back later when I’ll be revealing the winners of my right royal giveaway 😉
Hugs, Ruth xx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Digi, Sketches, stamping, Trend-Alert Tues, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cameo card ideas: Trend-Alert-Tuesday (part2)

  1. Babe O'Mara says:

    I’m sure your blogging friend will be touched by this beautiful card, and the fact that you were thinking of her. There’s a place in heaven for people like you!!!!!

    Babe

  2. Hi Ruth! LOVE both of these cards — but especially the one with the washi tape! LOVE it! I’ve never seen washi tape like that with the scalloped edges, so cool! That store sounds *very* dangerous. (But fun, too!)

    Thanks so much for entering the Make-It and Mail-It challenge — your friend is sure to love the card! 🙂

Leave a Reply

