Scrapbooking sunny Paris

Hi all

I have a layout to share with you today. I’m really pleased how this one turned out actually. As I mentioned in my last scrapping post, I haven’t done too many 12×12 pages before, and am only just really getting into scrapbooking.
So I am quite proud of how this looks.

CR84FN26_parisLO
Story….
A couple of years or so after hubby and I got together (then he was just boyfriend), he planned a surprise weekend away for us to go to Paris, for my birthday celebration.
All was going well if it were not for the fact that the week before, we were out with friends one evening, and a pal – Brian – asked me if I was getting excited about the trip away.
Me: “Er… what trip?”

And the surprise was out of the bag…. DOH!

CR84FN26_parisLOa
But it was still an adorable weekend, and Paris was beautiful of course, in the
spring sunshine.

I love this photo – with the Eiffel Tower looking like it is all gilded, glowing in the sunshine. So I went with the sunny colours of this weeks CR84FN challenge for my page: CR84FN #26.

CR84FN26 Graphic
Yummy palette, no?
The jumbo ‘scallop’ effect at the top of my photo panel is created with punched patterned circles – like the sun shining over the top of the Parisian skyline.
Cute butterflies are all die cut with my Cuttlebug and MTF Die-namics die, using some cardboard packaging! Fun for texture.

CR84FN26_parisLOb

In fact I was also going to enter this LO into another challenge: Paperplay #17, to use something not designed for crafting in a project, but I missed the deadline last night. Poops.
I think the kraft cardboard butterflies would definitely have qualified though 😉

In other notes:
The stickers for ‘Paris’ in the title (and also the word sentiments) are from a K&Co set by Brenda Walton that I have been hoarding for an age. And ‘in the springtime’ is from October Afternoon ‘Mini Market’ ledger alphas.
The background ledger-effect paper is from the 6×6 Basic Grey ‘Basics Kraft Papers’ pad – a bit scrunched and distressed. Scored this one from WMS. Yum. Feeds my (ever-growing?) need for kraft.
And the circle ‘sunshine’ words on the left side is a rub-on by My Mind’s Eye ‘Bloom & Grow’ collection – perfect fit for that scallop accent!

Bye for now then 😉
Rx

PS. Don’t forget my blog candy giveaway is still open here!

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Cuttlebug, Inspiration, Nestabilities, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Scrapbooking sunny Paris

  1. Pauline says:

    Gorgeous layout, and a stunning pic too! Love the little butterflies and the yellow and kraft work so well together!

  2. Aga says:

    Such a great pic, and it works so well with this gorgeous colour combo!
    Loving your adorable butterflies 🙂

  3. Babe O'Mara says:

    Love all the details in this gorgeous card. Great angle of the Eiffel Tower.

    Babe
    youiesmom@att.net

  4. Babe O'Mara says:

    I’m a subscriber.

    Babe
    youiesmom@att.net

  5. Amy says:

    Love the butteflies and this is such a stunning layout! I love your work!

  6. Fabulous LO Ruth! Love the pic of the Eiffel Tower and all your sweet butterflies fluttering about! Thank you so much for playing along with CR84FN 🙂

  7. Love your Paris layout – the photo is superb!!! Shame the secret slipped out – but it sounds like a trip full of wonderful memories! Thanks for playing along with CR84FN this week!

  8. Sue Lelli says:

    Ruth, LOVE the pic and you are so right, the colors are perfect for CR84FN and made such a FAB LO! LOVE your story and the butterflies and you hand written journaling! THX for playing with us at CR84FN!

  9. Beautiful layout! Love the sweet story and your preserved memory! Thanks so much for playing along with CR84FN!

  10. beautiful layout! 🙂
    http://scrapbookjessy.wordpress.com/

    greeting from germany

Leave a Reply

