Cameos: Trend-Alert-Tuesday ideas for May!

Happy Tuesday everyone πŸ˜‰

Here’s a card for today to start my Trend-Alert Tuesday ideas for May then…. Yes, on the theme of cameos and silhouettes.
There seemed to be heaps of new product on this theme released at CHA earlier this year, so I can’t miss the chance to get on board with this trend!!!

Check it out…
trend_cameo1

I was inspired by the idea of cameo jewellery for this card. I love vintage brooches and have a vintage cameo brooch which I think was either my grandma’s or maybe even my great-grandma’s, and this fun charm reminds me of that.
I scored an inexpensive bracelet at New Look (which I didn’t much fancy as a bracelet) but the charms and beads are great for a spot of upcycling, especially this sweet cameo charm in a filigree effect frame.

trend_cameo1closeupa

I wired a loop onto it with my jewellery-making kit, so it would dangle neatly from this fancy satin bow. A bit like a vintage jewellery choker, no?

trend_cameo1closeupb

And the vintagey papers are October Afternoon, from ‘The Thrift Shop’ with the sentiment label diecut from Nestabilities Labels 1, and layered up. The top layer is embossed and has the stamped greeting, masked to fit the space better.
It’s from the ‘Say it with Style‘ clear set by WMS. Got to love that set.
(Can’t wait for my next WMS order to arrive – did you see this month’s releases? Eeee – those doilies! That gingham! OK, calm down now, back to the matter in hand…)

Yes, some link-love…
Check out these silhouette cards by Amy. Using a couple of the adorable
Three Silhouettes‘ stamps by Hero Arts. I’ve had these cards bookmarked for a while – too cute!
Hoping to get my hands on those stamps at some point!

Hope you like today’s Trend-Alert-Tuesday anyhoo – have you been inspired by this trend yet? Do let me know… I’d love to see your ideas, and you could be featured in my next week’s link-love πŸ˜‰
Hugs, Rx

PS. Don’t forget my blog candy giveaway – still chances to enter!

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Cuttlebug, Jewellery, Nestabilities, stamping, Trend-Alert Tues, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cameos: Trend-Alert-Tuesday ideas for May!

  1. Pauline says:

    What a beautiful elegant card! Love the re-use of the charm off a bracelet, very pretty.

  2. Babe O'Mara says:

    I love cameos. I have one from my grandmother. Your card is beautiful. Love the color combination. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Babe
    youiesmom@att.net

  3. Babe O'Mara says:

    I subscribe by email.

    Babe
    youiesmom@att.net

  4. ~amy~ says:

    gorgeous card…love the cameo! Thanks so much for stoppin’ by!

  5. This card is wonderful. Love your cameo, and every time I go to a garage sale, or pass by the “junk jewelry” store, I’m always on the lookout for things that will work on cards. Yours is a wonderful find! It looks stunning on this lovely card.

  6. Pauline says:

    Ruth, I used one the labels you sent me today xx

  7. Maria says:

    Gorgeous card! and I love the cameo

  8. Beautiful card! Love the elegant cameo and pretty patterned paper!

  9. kasia says:

    Oh, yes, cameos are gorgeous! and so is your card.
    πŸ™‚
    What a fabulous thing to upcycle.

  10. Amy says:

    LOVE that Cameo charm you used! It just is perfect for this card! Beautiful work!!

Leave a Reply

