Bright ideas: Trend-Alert Tuesday rainbows (part2)

Happy Tuesday everyone, and that means a happy Trend-Alert Tuesday idea! Yay – another cheery rainbow card for you 😉

trend_rainbowcard3
This one is an idea I’ve had brewing in my brain for a *long* time, and I’m excited to put it into practice!
I hand-cut the peacock’s body from kraft card and layered up a rainbow of fabric and paper flowers. Folding them in half or trimming a little to make a dazzling selection of feathers! Peacocks are fancy at the best of times, but this one can be especially proud of his plumage, no?!!
I just added a few details, hand-drawn with a brown fineliner – his eye, legs and of course the snazzy crest, complete with gems.

Here’s a closeup of how I layered the flowers to make the feathers.
(Tip: Working back from the violet up to the red is much easier for getting them
to overlap nicely!):

trendalert_rainb3close
Hope you like my rainbow peacock!

And here is a little link love of more rainbow treats that I’ve enjoyed seeing in blogland lately. Take a look:

Amy’s fun springtime tubes – a perfect rainbow of sweet treats

Striking zig-zag stamping from Maile – contemporary classiness

Angela’s stunning stripy card – so cheery

There we are for now then.
Remember too my giveaway is still open here – don’t forget to comment for your chance to win those stamps!
See you soon, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Trend-Alert Tues. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bright ideas: Trend-Alert Tuesday rainbows (part2)

  1. cherry says:

    what a cute birdie….is plummage is gorgeous! cherry

  2. kasia says:

    Oh My!!! That is some fabulous plumage! I love all of your fabulous bright colours. 🙂

  3. ~amy~ says:

    Such thee clever card!!!!

  4. Pauline says:

    Oooh, I’m loving this rainbow peacock! Such a great use of those fabric flowers!

  5. Judith Gowdy says:

    Very cleaver idea and I love how you repeated the rainbow with the sentiment mat 🙂

  6. I adore peacocks and I love this card! Thanks for linking 🙂

  7. Heather I. says:

    Breathtaking Ruth! I love this so much – very creative!!!

  8. Jacqueline says:

    Ruth, this is SO clever, so out of the box, really beautiful, love your use of color!!

  9. Oooh, so totally fun and clever!

  10. Danielle says:

    What a creative and clever idea! Thank you so much for all your nice comments on my blog, I really appreciate them so much!
    xo
    Danielle

Leave a Reply

