Pretty cards: Sketch-On-Saturday (SOS 6) – and a giveaway!

Hi there everyone! Hope you are well and set for the weekend.
I have a few treats for you today before we go out. Busy day ahead, as we are going out to the coast for a lovely walk. (It’s about an hours drive to get there, but worth it… and the weather is unbelievable right now, especially for early April!!)

So, enough of the weather chat… here’s today’s sketch: SOS6

sketch6 SOS6

And I rotated it too to see which I prefered…

So for my first card (yes, there’s another coming up in a mo!)… I was inspired by the current colour palette at The Play Date Cafe, PDCC76

PDCC76Take a look:

sketch_cardSOS6a

I layered up the card blank with a blue linen-effect patterned paper (a freebie from a magazine, years ago!) and then the white background.
I stamped my good old ‘Large Flower‘ cling stamp, by Hero Arts using the brightest blue ink I have (Versacolour Imperial Blue) and shaded it with my watercolour pencils.
I was planning to clear emboss the stamped image and then do some proper blending with the pencils, but I can’t find my waterblending brush anywhere and my regular paintbrush was all gunky with glittery bits and shimmer powders. Ooops! Can’t imagine how that can have happened…. 😉
I will have to get a new one.

sketch_SOS6aclose

Anyway I made a stem for my flower with ribbon, so the wide panel in my sketch did shrink a little IRL! Cute though, with the knotted piece for leaves.
The greeting is from WMS ‘Say it with Style‘, again in the Imperial Blue that I used for the flower.

And now – because I really liked how that one turned out – I thought I’d try this sketch again, with a whole different look. And rotated.

sketch_cardSOS6b

What do you think? I’m really pleased with this one too! Two hits in one day – phew-ee! 😉
I was going for a more cutesy look. Bright and bold and fun… and the colours are lovely and fresh. Aqua and pink – yum. Very jolly in the sunshine this morning.
And I love that fancy flocked damask paper in turquoise, from the ‘Lush 2’ collection by My Mind’s Eye. Strokeable. Lickable even. Well almost… if you don’t mind a furry tongue anyhoo.

sketch_SOS6bclose1

The sweet birdcage and birdie are by My Cute Stamps, from the clear set
‘Elegant Birds‘. Aptly named. (Enabler alert: I scored these in the UK from
Make the Day Special).

elegantbirds_stamps

Stamped and trimmed, with a little colour accenting.
The greeting is also from the same stamp set, but I wanted to rearrange the format, so as you can see, I did a spot of masking and stamped the words individually to suit my layout, and inked in different colours too.

sketch_SOS6bclose2

When I had my sentiment arranged how I liked it – can’t quite believe it worked out on my first go! – I could then die-cut and emboss the shape  using my Nesties Labels 1, new embossing pads and add a stamped border using WMS ‘Very Vintage Labels 1’.

So let me know if you play along with my sketch! All for a bit of fun 😉

Meanwhile, if you leave a comment on this post I have a giveaway! Yay – more fun!
Here’s how you can get your hands on this cute stamps set by Hero Arts:

HeroArts_giveaway

This clear set – brand new! Bought especially for this giveaway! – is called
Fill Your Heart, CL161. Nine stamps… Cute for card makers and for scrapbookers.
Open to all bloggy readers, including internationally.
Simply leave a comment on this post (SOS6) before next Saturday’s SOS post (SOS7) ie closing 11.59pm Friday 15th April (my time, BST). I will draw one random winner, and announce it next weekend.

So spread the word friends – I’d love as many people to be in with a lucky chance as possible 😉
Must go now then, hope you enjoyed this *long* post, and good luck with the giveaway! Have a lovely day, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Cute, Cuttlebug, Hero Arts, My Cute Stamps, Nestabilities, Sketches, stamping, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pretty cards: Sketch-On-Saturday (SOS 6) – and a giveaway!

  1. Pauline says:

    That’s very generous of you Ruth, what A FAB GIVEAWAY! Darn that caps lock! I’ve been to Ally Pally today to the craft show, and bought some goodies! It was very busy, but what a glorious day we’ve had here! Enjoy the rest of your weekend xx

  2. laura says:

    your cards are so cute!!!! and all of those stamps are SO fun! I LOVE My Cute Stamps. Definitely wishing to add some of those to my stash! 🙂

  3. memphis1956 says:

    Both of you cards are lovely. I really like the ribbon for the stem and leaves. Thanks for an opportunity to win

  4. Alice W. says:

    these are so cute! lovely cards, Ruth!

Leave a Reply

