Sketch-On-Saturday card: SOS 5

Here is something to get the creativity flowing for the weekend then!
My latest sketch:

sketch5

Let’s see what came out the other side when I made my card…

sketchcard_SOS5

I’m not sure it really turned out as well as I’d hoped, but I thought I’d share it anyway. (Maybe you have a suggestion or two?).
I wanted to go for a monochrome feel with some pattern layering. I liked the idea of adding a bit of dimension with the border made of paper, roughly folded to make box pleats. Nothing too precise, then scrunched up before fixing in place, all for a bit of a distressy-look. (And instead of the scallops that I drew in my sketch).
That paisley paper is from a GCD Studios 12x12pad, now retired, called Spring All Over. Yummy patterns and fancy finishes. The background flocked panel is by Doodlebug Design.

sketchcardSOS5_detail

The stamping is made up of randomly repeating some teeny stamps I have in my collection, ‘Heart Sprinkles’, LL876. By Hero Arts. They are super dinky. Me likey.
But sadly also retired now. I figure any cute heart stamp or even flowers would be nice here.

heart stamps

All topped off with some bling brads.
Hope you like this sketch then folks – remember to let me know in the comments if you play. I’d love to see 😉
I think I might even try again with another card myself later. See if I can do better, bec I really had high hopes for this sketch. Then my card ended up being one of those ‘come back and try again in a day or two’ ones, but it still never really improved!

In other news:
I promised a reveal of my stash haul from yesterday. Eeee! Exciting! (And with more bad photography, sorry. Today is so gloomy so I’m using my craft daylight lamp to shed a little more light…)

stash1

Cute animal stamps ‘Playful Animals‘ CL155, by Hero Arts…. More buttons (I always seem to be low on blue ones – hmm, what’s that about?!) including sweet mini polka dotty ones… Yum….. The Spellbinders tan embossing mats. Phew-ee, I tell you, I am glad to finally have my crafty paws on these. Nestability fun, here I come!

stash2

Some Basic Grey rub-ons, from the Archaic collection, which were in the sale. Plenty of useful boy – and grown-up boy 😉 – images here methinks. And also, but still excitingly, a good stack of kraft card blanks. I’m always running out of kraft, and at last found this supply by Papermania, as ready-folded card blanks with envies, at a better price even than equivalent 12×12 Bazzill sheets. Cool.

Phew. Congrats on getting this far then, you’ll be relieved to hear you made it to the end of today’s post. See you again soon, and hope you have a fun crafty weekend!
Hugs, Ruth S xx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Hero Arts, Inspiration, Sketches, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sketch-On-Saturday card: SOS 5

  1. Allison says:

    Love that folded paper touch…super layout too! Nice haul!

  2. Lovely card Ruth! The rhinestones add a touch of elegance 🙂 TFS

  3. Alice W. says:

    fabulous sketch and lovely card, Ruth! have a wonderful Sunday! =)

  4. Pauline says:

    This is a great sketch, and the card is fab! I love those purply hues, and the ruffled paper border looks lovely, I must try that myself! Hope you’re havin a great weekend! xx

  5. What a great card…I love your pleated border. An outstanding creation!

  6. ~TAMMY~ says:

    What a great sketch and you can never go wrong with bling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

