Trend-Alert Tuesday: Lace card (part5!)

Hi all and here’s my final post of Trend-Alert Tuesdays for March, which all feature a lace theme!
So I decided to go shabby and inky for this one, as you can see:

Trend_Alert Tues: lace card11

It started off because I had the idea of layering a piece of lace fabric across a card front, maybe experimenting with a different colour card or even a patterned paper underneath, to see how you could see through…

None of the lace fabrics I could find were very detailed – they looked too much like a net curtain! – unless you spend a *lot* more money (which I could not really afford for minimum purchase of 1m!). So then my plan evolved into using a wide vintagey trim, and I found this one at a local fabric stall on the market in Bath.

It was a pretty ordinary-looking baby blue colour, but I figured I could easily shabby it up and make it look more ‘heirloom’, IFYWIM!

lace_mists1

I started by cutting a length to get misting and spritzing with my Cosmic Shimmer sprays (Iridescent Mica Pigments Spray: Persian Blue and Summer Grass from Set 3), and also a bit of Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist (Sand).

Lace mists 2

I even like how the ‘negative’ silhouette of the lacy pattern showed up on my protective  spritzing paper! Maybe will have to try that idea properly another day 😉

So while the lacyness was still a bit wet from the mists, I dabbed with more of the Cosmic Shimmer powders to give some colour accents, and while it was then drying I got busy on my card blank. Cutting a large aperture from both panels of a tri-fold card… plenty of Distress Inking in Tea Dye… and stamping the fern leaf in Versamark ink.

It’s from the ‘Watercolour Petals‘ clear set, CL 431, by Hero Arts. A nice tone-on-tone effect, which I brushed more of the Persian Blue and Purple Violet Cosmic Shimmers onto, to catch the light. (You can see it best in the main pic).
The lace is just then sandwiched in the aperture and the panels secure it neatly, so there’s no messy layer inside the card. Yay!

trend_lace11_closeup

The final focal layer was a label cut with my Nesties Labels 4, and stamped using WMS ‘Rescue Remedies‘. To keep with the faded and vintagey feel, I second-generation stamped then heat embossed in blue (American Crafts’ Zing powder: Blue Opaque). It gives a much softer look, and not as ‘zingy’ and crisp as usual. You can still read the detail of the writing, so that’s good. Better for an heirloom effect 😉

So there we go. Next Tuesday, I’ll have a new Trend-Alert theme as April will be with us! Any trendy guesses, folks? He, he!
Take care, Ruth x

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Cuttlebug, Fabric, Hero Arts, Nestabilities, stamping, Trend-Alert Tues, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trend-Alert Tuesday: Lace card (part5!)

  1. Chris says:

    Really like the distressed look Ruth 🙂 What does IFYWIM mean?

Leave a Reply

