Magnolia stamping

Hi there
Here’s a pretty little something for you this morning…
magnoliacard

I was so amazed by Sherrie’s dreamy magnolia flower earlier this week, over at her blog Card Creme, that I was inspired to create something myself last night. I don’t have the same stamp so I suppose it is not a truly authentic magnolia bloom, but I do *love* this ‘Large Flower‘ cling stamp by Hero Arts.

I coloured it in creamy whiteness with pink tinges to the petals, using my trusty watercolour pencils and plenty of blending πŸ˜‰
In fact, I felt like it needed a bit more colour after I’d cut it out, so it got a little more oomph after this pic was taken!

magnolia_colour

Then when I cut it out I could trim the petals right down to the centre of the flower to help curl them up and raise them on foam pads, for a bit more magnolia-like dimension. What do you think? Cute, no?

Here’s a closeup, where you can also pick up on the Cosmic Shimmer misting in the background…
magnolia_closuep

 

Will be back in a little while with all the Norway news! See you then, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Hero Arts, Inspiration, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Magnolia stamping

  1. afillo says:

    Super pretty! Love the twine addition to give it a “natural” appeal!

  2. Pauline says:

    This is gorgeous! That stamp is beautiful, and I love your soft colouring, a really lovely card.

  3. kasia says:

    Wow Ruth this is beautiful! Great colouring job. πŸ™‚

  4. Sherrie says:

    Awesome job! Sooo pretty! Love the shimmer spray too!

  5. Alice W. says:

    wow! beautiful coloring on the flower and really love the simple design, too. gorgeous card!

  6. Virginia L. says:

    Beautifully done! Love the soft and pretty colors! That shmmmering effect is so gorgeous!

  7. Julie Ranae says:

    I noticed your comment over at Moxie Fab about Lizzie Anne Designs and wanted to make you aware that they are sponsoring this week’s challenge over at The Play Date Cafe…hope you will come check them out
    <http://theplaydatecafe.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

