SOS – Sketch-On-Saturday 3

Hi there and welcome… it’s time to meet my sketch for this week…

sketch3
I had something in mind for some lovely layering when I came up with this sketch… perhaps something a bit shabby…? Who knows….
And look what came out the other end:

sketch_card3
Not quite as shabby as I was thinking after all, thanks to the bright colours, but I love the layers anyhoo. And inspired by my new shoes, which I got out again this week, just to parade around the house in. Yum.

The papers are October Afternoon from ‘The Thrift Shop’ collection, with plenty of Distress Ink edging, in Tea Dye. I don’t have much experience with Distress Inks and only have a couple of colours but I can see I want need to grow my collection asap!
(In fact, on the subject of Distress Inks, have you seen Britta’s A-MAZ-ING video tutorial series on them… “No-Stress Distress Inks” over at her blog. Wowsers, this *so* great, it has really opened my eyes to the potential! You must check it out if you haven’t already…)

And I also got to use my new Papertrey Ink stamps, ‘Button Boutique’, with a spot of heat embossing using American Crafts Zing powder in ‘Rouge’.

Button-Boutique-preview
Eee! I can’t tell you how exciting it is to have these beauties! I have admired Nichole and the PTI DT girls for years now, and never felt able to justify an overseas order. The shipping from the US always makes me weep and think of how many extra stamps I could buy in the UK for that amount!!
But with this release, I knew I had to go for it! And besides, my brother was giving me some birthday money to spend on crafty goodies, so it is not such a bad hit to the credit card 😉

sketch_card3closeup

Sadly, I didn’t manage to score the coordinating dies (sold out too soon!) so I will need to be patient and get trimming! Nor did I get the adorable Parisian Lace Doily Die. What. A. Stunner.
I will have to get my paws on those next time…
Mind you, have you seen this month’s releases? Squeal! Such gorgeousness. AGAIN! Argh! How am I supposed to pay my share of the bills and the mortgage, when all the time such loveliness is wafted before me. Those Tiny Tags! Those Postmarks! Eeee, too cute for words!

So anyhoo, time to go – hope you like today’s sketch, and the bright and bold card! Don’t forget, if you get chance to play along, do leave me a comment linking to your card. I’d love to see 😉
Hugs, Ruth xx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Inspiration, Papertrey Ink, Sketches, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOS – Sketch-On-Saturday 3

  1. So pretty Ruth! Love the Vintage vibe and the image looks amazing embossed!

  2. Pauline says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! I too love the PTI range, but even when I turned 40 last year, I couldn’t justify the shipping fee! I wish they would get a uk or European distributor. Love the papers you used, and i think it’s got the shabby feel t it.

  3. kasia says:

    Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous! The colour scheme, the sketch all of it….so pretty!
    Glad you splurged on the overseas shipping. And Happy Belated Birthday!
    *hugs*

  4. Pauline says:

    Hi, I have used your sketch today and provided a link to your blog, if you want to see what I’ve done with your sketch pop over to
    http://pauline-littlemrsp.blogspot.com/2011/03/cr84fn-20-sos-3-one-stop-craft.html

    Have a great weekend xx

  5. Hi Ruth!! Um, your shoes are AWESOME. Could I please borrow them? I love your justification for them – you sound like me!!! Your button card is beautiful! I love the bold patterns… I am waiting for this set to hit my doorstep any day now… and then in a couple of weeks I’ll have those tiny tags you are lusting after…. 😉 You know, if you’d like, I would be happy to cut a bunch, even stamp them for you, and mail them off to you to hold you over until you can manage another shipment? Let me know!!

Leave a Reply

