Inspiration for birdie cards!

Here’s today’s card…. or should I say, today’s cards!! Yes, there are three for you to feast your eyes on after a good bit of creative time yesterday afternoon.
I got to use my new stamps and papers by Papermania that I mentioned yesterday – from the ‘Birdsong‘ collection.

In fact I used the same stamp three different ways – how’s that for versatile? 😉
First up:
birdie_card1

So I stamped the parrot in the jungly foliage and shaded the image using my watercolour pencils then trimmed it close.
The neutral linen-effect paper is from the Birdsong 6×6 pad, and I layered it up with a panel of blue card, which I Cuttlebug embossed with the woodgrain embossing folder that I got for my birthday.

The parrot goes on top of a bit of leafy layering, thanks to a skeleton leaf and some punched fern fronds. Check him out… 😉
birdie_card1_closeup

Next…
birdie_card2
The same parrot stamp but this time with just the birdie cut out and shaded again in different colours. I went for more of a tropical feel with the all-over jungle patterned paper, trimming the edges with my MFT Die-namics ‘Small Scallop’ border die. (I got this one here at Dies to Die for, in case you are wondering.)

The journaling spot is placed so it crops away in one corner and the parrot pops up on foam squares so it looks like he has fancy tail feathers on the journaling spot print! A few gems also add to his snazzy look 😉
birdie_card2_closeup

“And for my final trick…” here’s another look for this birdie, which also uses a wood-mounted Hero Arts stamp that I love: ‘Birdcage‘, K5343.
birdie_card3

I paired it with some October Afternoon patterned paper from ‘Modern Homemaker’. I heat embossed in black and trimmed close then used my craft knife to cut a door for the birdcage. I re-stamped the birdcage to layer a segment of the cage behind the door, so it looks like the back of the cage when the door is ajar, IYKWIM.
Now my parrot can fly free and pop in and out of his cage as he likes – more friendly than trapping him inside I think 😉

Here’s a close-up:
birdie_card3_closeup

Ok so that’s it for now, must run!
Happy Monday everyone, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Cuttlebug, Hero Arts, Papermania, stamping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inspiration for birdie cards!

  1. Laurie W. says:

    Ruth I love your cards! That bird cage is so pretty! Thank you for visiting my blog and the sweet comments! You made me smile! Have a great day!

  2. Alice W. says:

    these are so sweet, Ruth!! love how you used the bird image in each card and yet they are all so different. fabulous work!

  3. What sweet cards Ruth! Love all the various colored parrots! 🙂 TFS

  4. NancyK says:

    Oh these are great…I love how you colored the birds, they look kind of primitive with lots of charm. Wonderful inspiration!
    blessings~

  5. Chan says:

    Awesome cards, Ruth! I love how you used the same stamp for all three cards but created completely different looks!

Leave a Reply

