Fun cards for Friday!

Another couple of cards today.
Check them out…

First, inspired by Jo’s card here. Nothing to do with the Daring Card Makers‘ monthly challenge (of daffodils and jonquils for March), but it reminded me that I haven’t used my ‘Keep Calm…’ Stamp in a while!

keepcalmcarryon1The ‘Keep Calm..’ phenomenon is still shining brightly, and I love it πŸ˜‰
Hubby bought me a ‘Keep Calm and Carry On’ mug a couple of Christmases ago – and I take it to work often, for tea-drinking amid crazy deadlines! When I found
it as a stamp at Rubber Soul, I had to add it to my basket!

Fun for birthday cards… when you add the message inside, along the lines of “It’s only another birthday!” like I did here for a friend of ours, whose birthday is coming up. It’ll be his big 4-0, so a bit of a fun card is required πŸ˜‰
Check out the inside…

keepcalmcarryon2The clouds patterned paper is Echo Park, from the Sweet Summertime collection. I totally love all their lines. Such happy designs.
And the funny penguin chipboard is from the K&Company ‘Actopus to Zelephant’ set. Comedy critters with puns are a good card making option – esp for masculine cards I find. Make ’em laugh!

Also this cute card for the Lawnscaping Challenge #5 here….
To use Lawn Fawn stamps in an unusual way:
Lawn_Fawn_challenge#5I totally love the cute Lawn Fawn stamps and even though I don’t have many sets I figure this challenge sounds like lots of fun. I love finding clever new ways to use my stamps. Hope I’ll get even more new ideas when I check out all the entries for this challenge too!

So here’s my card, in which I used ‘Petite Florals‘ to make Easter bonnets! I hope that’s unconventional enough πŸ˜‰

Eastercard_lawnscaping1I stamped the chickies, from the ‘Sending Happy Thoughts’ set, CL305, by Hero Arts and then paper-pieced them, so I didn’t need to cut out their legs!
It was fun to decorate their hats with all manner of embellishments – Stickles, Glossy Accents, a sequin, gems, seed beads, even a pom pom. And a touch of gingham ribbon completes the Easter look.

Eastercard_lawnscaping2Eastercard_lawnscaping3So have you entered this challenge? Go on, try it, it’s a fun one!
Hope you have some crafty fun today folks, Ruth x

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Hero Arts, Lawn Fawn, masculine cards, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fun cards for Friday!

  1. Laurel says:

    Oh how cute! Using the petite florals as bonnets! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE! Thank you for playing along with us at Lawnscaping!

  2. Christiana says:

    Oh my gosh, that is hilarious! I love your birds with their Petite Florals hats! Too cute. Thanks for playing with us at Lawnscaping!

  3. Super cute cards Ruth! Love the birds with the funky “wigs”! What a hoot! Have a great day!

  4. Marie / Legojents says:

    Those chicks are SOOO cute! TFS =)

  5. Alice W. says:

    love your keep calm card, so fun!! the sentiment inside is perfect! and your second card is fabulous, Ruth!! love love how you dressed up those birdies! fabulous work!

  6. yyam says:

    These are adorable Ruth! I am in love with that “Keep calm and carry on” stamp….love that pairing with the bird! πŸ™‚ And the floral bonnets are just toooooooo cute! πŸ™‚

    Have a fabulous weekend! πŸ™‚

  7. Lynnette says:

    These are such adorable cards. I love the sentiment, “Keep Calm and Carry On,” I think we can all relate to that at times. Very clever use of Petite Florals, so much fun

  8. Amylucimar says:

    cute! that is one stamp set i really wish i had and after seeing this card i NEED it. lol.

  9. kasia says:

    THese are all so cute! I LOVE this little chicks with their hats. And that “Keep calm” birthday card is hilarious. πŸ™‚

  10. This is SO clever & cute! I love it! Thanks so much for all of your sweet comments on my blog. I really appreciate it! πŸ™‚

  11. Chan says:

    I love both of these super-cute cards, Ruth — they really gave me the giggles! πŸ™‚ Those Easter bonnets are TOO funny!

Leave a Reply

