Flower card inspiration – Color Inspiration for Card Makers!

Morning πŸ˜‰
Hope you liked my SOS masculine card idea yesterday.
It’s back to the flowery stuff today though, as I thought I’d share these cards. I made them yesterday evening after flicking through my (well-thumbed!) copy of Color Inspiration for Card Makers.

This is an absolute winner of a special issue and I’m so glad that I managed to lay my crafty paws on it. So exciting to see cards from lots of my bloggy friends in there too! Congrats on your publications ladies.

So first up, this one as inspired by colour palette p58-59:
colour_inspirationcard1I don’t have the actual Bazzill Basics colours, so went for the closest matches in my stash. The patterned paper is some ancient Karen Foster which I accented with Stickles on some of the roses – doesn’t show up in the pic though!
And again the Fiskars ‘Apron Lace’ border punch came into its own!

colour_inspirationcard2The flowers are felt and so cute when layered with this gingham button which I got at a craft show,Β  I think it was from The Button Company. Can’t see the buttons there now, but I know Clothkits has them too. Yum!

The stamped greeting is by Stampin’ Up which was in the Simply Sent: Card Kit ‘Sending Happy Thoughts’. I masked it to stamp on two lines as it’s actually one long message, and I felt it suited being split.

Next up, one inspired by the Bright & Bold palette on pages 26-27.
colour_inspirationcard3I think the purple patterned paper is perhaps a bit paler than the suggested colour scheme, but it works with the bold yellow anyhoo I think.
I made the greeting panel with Waltzing Mouse Stamps‘Very Vintage Labels 4’ and Nestabilities Labels 4. The butterfly is a Martha Stewart punch.

colour_inspirationcard4Flowers are made with some cute layering of paper, felt and fabric goodness with brad and gem centres.

These were fun to make – have any of you guys made cards as inspired by the colour palettes in that issue? I’d love to see, so leave me a comment with your link!
Better go now, lots to do today before work tomorrow!
Bye, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Inspiration, Stampin' Up, stamping, Waltzing Mouse Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flower card inspiration – Color Inspiration for Card Makers!

  1. Virginia L. says:

    Love your flower cards, Ruth! The use of felt is super lovely and your composition is fantastic! Thanks SO much for always leaving me such kind and thoughtful comments! I really appreciate them. xoxo

  2. What wonderful creations…so full of beautiful colors and springtime flowers. Outstanding!

  3. Diana Evans says:

    what a fun card!!! wonderful work!!!

  4. Alice W. says:

    these are so pretty! love your layered flowers. wonderful details. lovely cards!

  5. yyam says:

    You’ve been productive! These are really pretty! Can’t go wrong when there are sweet blooms! πŸ™‚

  6. Both of these cards are fab! Love the bold mix of colors! Looks like Spring has sprung in your corner of the world!

Leave a Reply

