SOS Card: Sketch-On-Saturday

Here’s something for the weekend to get the creative juices flowing. How about a sketch?
I like working from sketches now and again, or using a cool & inspiring card I’ve seen as the basis for a sketch. Just a fun way to get the crafty spark going!

So please forgive the not-great-photography of my notebook – I think I may need to learn how to draw sketches in Photoshop if we’ll be doing this on a regular basis, hehe! Here it is anyhoo.
sketch1I decided to draw out how it would look rotated too – I usually do this in case I find the patterned paper or stamp or whatever I’m using would work better landscape instead of portrait. Just keeping the options open πŸ˜‰

And here’s the card I made…
sketch_card1
Yup – a masculine card! I know these can sometimes be tricky and I like to have plenty of ideas to hand when I need to make one. This is why I’ll even have an individual category on the bloggo for masculine ideas – for easy reference πŸ˜‰

I did go for the landscape after all as you can see, as I thought the fun seascape works better this way. In close-up:
sketchcard1_closeup

And what! No stamping or patterned papers? Eeek! This is quite rare for me I think πŸ˜‰
It just came together when I saw the cute American Crafts Details sticker (‘Shelly’ pack) which came from the ‘Heat Wave’ collection.

I used an oval-aperture panel cut from a bifold card I had for mounting cross stitch etc, and it makes a neat ready-purpose frame. A knotted bit of stripy nautical style ribbon (by Tilda from Panduro) sorts it out. Hope you like!
Why not play along with my SOS – I’d love to see what you come up with so leave me a comment with your link πŸ˜‰

In other news, I made these cute earrings. Rustled ’em up super fast to wear today for going to meet a dear pal for lunch. Good girly gossip and a spot of shopping. Fun!
flower_earringsNot terribly well focussed I fear, but you get the jist. Just a little flowery dangle πŸ˜‰

Must dash then, and let me know what you make of my first SOS!
Ruth x

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Jewellery, masculine cards, Sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOS Card: Sketch-On-Saturday

  1. What a great card, and sketch too. My cards rarely turn out like I first imagine…LOL

  2. Laurie W. says:

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog! So glad to have found yours! I love your card! That little boat w the swell is so cute!!!

  3. yyam says:

    Oh, what a sweet card! Love the colors! Sometimes you don’t need patterned paper…this looks great! πŸ™‚

  4. NancyK says:

    Love the sketch, it’s a classic go to style. Your card is so fun, the striped ribbon is the perfect accent! And you make your own earrings, such fabulous talent!
    blessings~

  5. Cute card! Love the stitched on wave!

  6. Sue says:

    that card is cute! Love that little sailboat.

  7. Alice W. says:

    your card is so simple and cute. wonderful details, too! and wow! you made that pair of ear rings?? you are so talented, Ruth!! it’s so beautiful!

  8. kasia says:

    Great card! I love that focal image of the boat and wave, also loving that striped ribbon. πŸ™‚
    What fabulous little earrings you created so effortlessly too. πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend.

  9. Chan says:

    I love your sketch and your super-cute card, Ruth!! πŸ™‚ That little sailboat is so adorable, and the ribbon is the perfect finishing touch! The earrings you made are so cute, too!

Leave a Reply

