Yarn cake deliciousness.. plus card inspiration

Hi again everyone! Hope you are well today?
I am ok- it’s been a busy day again, as I am writing this to go up on the bloggo first thing in the morning. (I tend to write my blog posts and work on editing the photos late at night, when home from work and all the hungry mouths are fed and chores are done. It may be the case that I need to re-take some photos in the morning you see when the light is better, and that’s the case today. Hmmm, I need to figure out some better time-schedule of phototaking/ blogposting… Tips welcome…..)

Anyhoo, I thought I’d quickly share this yarn gorgeousness which I got recently from my dear pal Ali at Laughing Yaffle. She hand-dyes lots of delicious sock yarns and I have knitted many pairs of lovely socks as a result, and this one is a new yarn she has been dyeing lately, called ‘Fledgling‘. That’s the yarn name, not the colourway.
It’s a super-soft alpaca/ merino/ nylon blend, and is so cosy and scrummy – just like a baby bird would be πŸ˜‰

Fledgling_yarn1
How totally gorgeous does it look all wound up like this into a ‘cake’, with a big old ribbon bow?!

Fledgling_yarn2I’m just sitting with it on my coffee table for a bit so enjoy its loveliness a while more, until I find the right pattern for it!

Meanwhile, here’s a couple of cards I made yesterday.
Friends we know have just had a little girl (their second baby), so I whipped up this congratulations card for them. I always leave new baby cards until the last minute, I don’t know why. I should always have at least one in blue, and one pink to be ready for either eventuality! Anyhow…

newbaby_cardCute Cuttlebug embossing using my Swiss dots embossing folder is so pretty for backgrounds I think, and then I kept it simple with a journaling spot with a heart and layering up the message. I haven’t got away from my addiction of the Fiskars Apron Lace‘ border punch either yet – I got this one from hubby’s parents for Christmas and it’s been seeing lots of action ever since πŸ˜‰

Next up a birthday card for a special pal, Clare:Cupcake_birthdaycardI used some girly patterns from my Sultry Basic Grey 6x6pad for this one, and a glittery cupcake die-cut. You can never have too many cupcakes right, especially where birthdays are concerned πŸ˜‰
I only just noticed when I was editing the pic that the ribbon was all frayed and yuk, so apologies for not realising that sooner! I had chance to neaten it up at least before I sent the card – phew!

*Edited to add: I also am entering this card for Meredith’s birthday blog Colour Challenge. Find the link here!*

Hope Clare likes it anyway.
Thanks for looking – must dash now. Hugs, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn cake deliciousness.. plus card inspiration

  1. Truly beautiful cards. I love the added touches you have added…glitter around the edges, the happy ribbon, baubles and wonderful sentiments. Great job.

  2. Oh it’s beautiful!! I love the houndstooth DP, and your cupcake makes me hungry… hahaha… I didn’t even notice the ribbon til’ you pointed it out – and I think it all still looks wonderful! Thank you so much for playing along with my birthday fun!

  3. Judith Gowdy says:

    Love to see your socks when you have made them Ruth. Lovely cards too, lots of lovely finishing details.

  4. Melissa S. says:

    What and adorable baby and birthday card!! I love all the pinks. πŸ™‚ Good luck with the color challenge…I think you nailed it!

  5. Pauline says:

    Gorgeous, both of them! The houndstooth is really catching my eye lately, the next big thing for sure!

  6. Cassie K says:

    what sweet cards

Leave a Reply

