Vintage style jewellery

Today I thought I’d show off a necklace that I made last week, in honour of my birthday! I made this fun, vintage style charm necklace in my favourite aqua colour to wear on ‘the big day’.
I haven’t made many new pieces recently so it was a good excuse to get ‘beady’ again 😉

aqua_marina1(sorry the light is not brilliant for photography today, so it’s probably not seen at it’s best and I haven’t got a pic of me wearing it either, so you’ll have to ‘enjoy’ my necklace mannequin doing her bit!)

I love the quirky, mixy-matchy feel of the different charms and crystals and beady goodness. Mostly collected from other vintage pieces, the crystals are Swarovski from my local beading haunts: Bijoux Beads and Shiney Rocks, both in Bath, and there are plenty of yummy bits and bobs that I even used from other items of jewellery I’ve hoarded/ found.
I especially like the perched birdie charm (seen on the left there!) which came from Cards & Craft, here, and also the Egyptian hieroglyph charm – in the middle next to the dragonfly. It’s called an ‘ankh’ and it means ‘key of life’ apparently. Hubby bought it for me (before we were married) as a pair of earrings, when he went on a work trip to Las Vegas, but I managed to lose one and have been looking for the right project for this one to find itself a new home.

Aqua_marina2I like to name as many of my jewellery pieces as I can (though it’s not always easy!) but it’s fun when they just speak to you, like an artist’s canvas or a sculptor’s bronze might. This one is called Aqua Marina, after the retro 60s TV show ‘Stingray’ which featured a song about some kind of underwater-girl called Aqua Marina. I’m not sure that she was a mermaid but she was suitably mesmerising, and I hope she did not lure any of the Stingray heroes to a miserable mishap on the rocks 😉
Check out the YouTube link here.

Here’s another close-up of my Aqua Marina, with another cute charm I had to include – it’s the Eiffel Tower. Cute!
Aqua_marina3

Well that’s it for now. Will have some cards to share later – come back then as I’ll be kicking off a regular feature on the blog! Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in beads, Jewellery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vintage style jewellery

  1. Jean Martin says:

    Oooh wow Ruth! This is gorgeous! Thanks so much for all your sweet comments on my blog. I just love comments. They inspire me to do better each time. I’m going to go look around your blog now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

