Trend-Alert Tuesday: Lace

*This is the second of my posts today, so be sure to scroll down for more crafty goodness! Thanks!*

So welcome to the first of my regular features on the blog called Trend-Alert Tuesday, when I’ll be taking a trend that’s hot in crafting and showing off some projects that incorporate that trend. Every Tuesday in the month will showcase at least one trend-related project and that specific trend will stay until the next month, when a new trend will take over in the limelight!
I hope you’ll like the trends I pick out and maybe even be inspired to join in the trendy crafting – leave me a comment with details of your project, and tag it Trend-Alert so I can spot it on your blog or Flickr or wherever. If you’ve got some ideas for trends that I should feature, why not let me know those too? It’d be great to hear from you!

trend_alert_lace1So as you see from the title my first trend which will last for all Tuesdays in March is… Lace! I know it’s not the newest trend but this one is showing no signs of going away and I’m still loving all the lacy looks around in craft land!

To start with I’ve got a couple of quick cards I rustled up lately (as thank yous for my birthday gifts last week!) with lacy trims that I had in my stash.
I love the birdie patterned paper of this first one so it makes a great all-over treatment for my card, when mounted on a pearlescent pink card blank that I cut with deckle-edge scissors for a bit of interest. A Martha Stewart punched butterfly and layered sentiment made from some Karen Foster alpha stickers that I’ve been hoarding make for the perfect touch when I knotted a delicate lace trim around the card. Here’s a closeup:

trens_alert_lace2

For another quick card, here’s one that I made with bits from my scrap basket. Got to love it when you use up some of those ‘bits & bobs’!

trend_alert3I found this trim on a craft stall at our local market – it’s a lovely soft creamy colour and I thought it worked really well with the quirky patterned paper, which is from my Urban Prairie 6×6 pad by Basic Grey. A couple of punched flower embellishments and sentiment spelt from die-cut lettering finishes another quick thank you card!

Hope you like today’s Trend-Alert ideas – I’d love to hear what you think!
Will be back soon, Ruth x

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Trend-Alert Tues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment