Sketch-On-Saturday: SOS22, Papertrey Ink idea

Hi all
Finally a spot of crafting time for me ;)
I have been feeling very mojo-less and really lacking in energy for being creative. Hard to believe, huh? Well, c’est la vie.
Life has been taking over in a big way, and offering its distractions. But enough of that.

A sketch came to the rescue for today – I was playing around this morning with a few ideas in my notebook, and wasn’t happy with any of them until I combined elements from a couple of options… Yay – that’s better!

Sketch-On-Saturday idea SOS22

And here’s my card. Another card for a guy today (I need a few of these right now!) so I ended up switching the ribbon for a paper strip:

Sketch-On-Saturday SOS22 card for a man

It’s been a while since I got inky with my Papertrey Ink goodies (horror!) so I went for ‘Background Basics – Newsprint’ stamped in grey on a vellum piece that I found in my stash whilst flicking through some long-forgotten papers. A “new” discovery!
It has a feint stripe so the newspaper effect works well ;)

It’s stuck down with a couple of washi tape strips to the kraft card blank, and I kept with the monochrome feel with some antique style stickers of stationery items. (I scored the stickers at a museum gift shop in Madrid. Actually come to think of it, the washi tapes were from there too!!! Who knew?!! Ole!)

Sketch-On-Saturday SOS22 man card Papertrey Ink Newsprint stamp

More kraft with the Jillibean Soup journaling sprout spot for the sentiment, with a bit of a journalism-themed pun. This card is for a journalist friend, so I hope he will like it. And a fancy square metal brad.

I’m entering this card into the latest challenge over at A Passion for Papertrey: One for the Boys. The newsprint stamps turned out to be perfect for my card.
Let me know if you play with my sketch – I’d love to see if you’re inspired to try it too ;)

Take care, hugs to all, Rx

About justsomestuffimade

I'm a crafty type and always have been. Forever. All kinds of crafting goodness. I'm married to a very special man. For one thing, he puts up with all the crafty nonsense.
This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, masculine cards, Papertrey Ink, Sketches, stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sketch-On-Saturday: SOS22, Papertrey Ink idea

  1. Jackie says:

    I’m really loving the collage look of this card. It is sort of vintage masculine wonderful idea for a card for a man. Glad you are pushing through that mojo-less feeling.

  2. kasia says:

    LOVE this! I think that washi (?) tape is the perfect addition and so is your sentiment. :)
    I hope life slows down a bit for you soon. :)

  3. A great guy card! The use of tape is great for that guy card look!
    Thanks for joining us on A Passion for Papertrey!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  4. Caryn says:

    Glad you got your mojo up and running to join our challenge. Love the grungey look, and I agree the tape is a great touch on a guy’s card.

    Thanks for joining us at A Passion forPapertrey.

    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

Leave a Reply

